Village Awards and Rolls of Honour


These cups are awarded annually on the first Saturday in September, which this year will be 2nd September. Past winners are all named on  and in frames in the War Memorial Hall.

The Hibbert Cup is awarded for outstanding, voluntary, unpaid contribution to the Abbotts Ann community in honour of Basil Hibbert, who himself made an outstanding contribution to our community. A bench in memory of Basil stands outside the village shop. This year’s winner will be the 22nd holder of the Hibbert Cup.

The Liddell Cup is awarded on the same basis for the leader of a specific village project completed in the past year. It is awarded in honour of Andrew Liddell, whose own contribution is still fresh in our village memory. The next holder will be the 6th holder of the Liddell Cup.

The decisions are made by the Trustees of the War Memorial Hall, which Basil chaired for many years. In making the decisions, the Trustees also consult with the current holders of the Cups (Chris Davis).

All nominations (including all past unsuccessful nominations) are considered with great care, and any village resident may make a nomination for either or both cups. Please submit your nominations on the form HERE

Closing date for nominations is 19th August, two weeks before the cups are awarded. Please remember that your nomination must be yours alone – no groups please – so that it is absolutely confidential. Please keep your nomination secret as it would be most inappropriate in our Abbotts Ann family for the names of unsuccessful nominees to be known, and to be open for discussion.